How My Nail Designs Last Long: Base Coat and Top Coat

IMG_1219

I always use a base coat whenever I am about to paint my nails. It’s part of my nail painting routine. Here’s why: A good base coat protects my nails from any color I use, especially dark polishes. Usually any polish could stain my actual nail bed an unattractive tinge of yellow for weeks and then I have to grow out my nails or go polish-free completely for a month. And that’s no fun if you want to paint your nails weekly, like I tend to do.

IMG_1235
We’ve talked about base coat, but now it’s time to talk about the kind of polish that pulls the overall mani look together, the top coat. A good top coat smooths out any imperfections on a semi-wet nail design, all while making the nails dry faster, sometimes in an impressive five minutes. By semi-wet, I mean 75% dry 25% wet. If the nail art is completely dry, the imperfections most likely will stay that way. If semi-wet, a good top coat can do wonders by making the design look seamless.

Here is a picture without top coat:

IMG_1236

Now look at that shine!
IMG_1234

I used to do my nails without any of the above mentioned products, and the nails would not look as vibrant and the nail design would chip off in no time. Now I can’t imagine doing a manicure without them!

List of Products:
Butter London Nail Foundation Flawless Base Coat
Butter London Hardwear P.D. Quick Top Coat

2 thoughts on “How My Nail Designs Last Long: Base Coat and Top Coat

  1. Pingback: How I Take Care of My Nails | Styled with Joy

  2. Pingback: October Empties | 2015 | Styled with Joy

Leave a Reply

