Get Ready with Me: The Great Gatsby/Flapper Themed Party – Makeup

IMG_1733

Get Ready with Me (2/4)

On Saturday, my friend had a Gatsby/Roaring ’20s themed birthday party at a beautiful mansion in upstate NY. This series will consist of the nails, makeup, hair, and outfit that I wore. This is my first makeup post! Yes, you will actually see my face with the makeup look I came up with for this event.

Let’s jump right into the makeup!

The Makeup

Face: I started out with a clean, moisturized face as always. Once that dried, I applied Benefit “That Gal” brightening primer mainly to the middle of my face. With a Beauty Blender, I blended in a pea sized amount of Chanel VitalumiΓ¨re Aqua foundation all over my face. With the Eve Pearl Salmon Concealer, I took a small amount onto my ring finger and blended it underneath my eyes to cancel out any blue veins. Next, the Maybelline Fit Me concealer went under my eyes and covered any blemishes.

To set all the liquid products, I used Laura Mercier Invisible Loose Setting Powder, mainly underneath my eyes to blur everything out. Now that the powders are being used, I used the Jouer Bronzer (suntan) to contour and the Hourglass Mood Exposure blush. I love pairing this blush with bright or red lips because it gives you just the right amount of color so you don’t look too over the top.

Eyes: First, I primed my eyes with Benefit Stay Don’t Stray. I followed this up with MAC Cosmetics Paint Pot in Soft Ochre for an even canvas that my eye shadow can last on all day. From the Too Faced Boudoir Eyes palette, I took Garter Belt (matte gray) and kept building up the color while blending it out with Fuzzy Handcuffs (matte neutral). I ended up using a mix of Bobbi Brown shadow (Silver shimmer, limited edition) and Lap Dance (taupe shimmer) just in the middle of my lids to make them pop. I finished it off with Stila Stay All Day liquid eyeliner and curled my lashes and added a couple coats of Benefit They’re Real mascara. I used Anastasia Brow Wiz to fill in my brows.

Lips: I used this lipstick trick to do my lips. Have a read of the post on making your red lip last all night if you didn’t already. I used the Bite Beauty VIB Rouge lipstick. It’s darker than a true red and it really suits my skin tone.

Fragrance: It’s only appropriate that this is The Great Gatsby party and I spray on some Marc Jacobs Daisy.

Here is the finished look…

IMG_1766

Be sure to check out my blog for the next post in the series on Hair. Thank you for joining me in my Get Ready with Me Series. I hope you liked the look. What do you think of the red lip/smokey eye combo for a flashy flapper?

12 thoughts on “Get Ready with Me: The Great Gatsby/Flapper Themed Party – Makeup

    • Thank you for checking it out! I think I finally got the hang of doing a smokey eye. I used to avoid it because I would look like I had a black eye instead of a pretty makeup look! Tomorrow is the flashy flapper outfit πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Whenever I do a red lip, I always do so much prep to make it last long. I did all the blotting and reapplying and ending with a tissue over my lips and dusting powder on top. I only touched up once and it was probably at 12-1AM. So pretty good!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

