Manicure Monday: Paint with a Touch of Sparkle

Wait til the end to see all the glitter manicures I’ve done since my Instagram was born!

IMG_3592

Tools Needed: Tape

I am always pleasantly surprised to receive the most compliments on simple manicures like this one. The sparkly angled tips can be worn on every nail or just the accent nails. Let’s just say there are a number of ways to wear this pop of glitter mani look. I’ll show you how!

Get out your scotch tape and make sure you put the tape on the back of your hand and pull it off a few times so it gets less tacky. We don’t want to ruin perfectly good nails.

Here is a step-by-step tutorial on the Sparkle nails:

IMG_3593

1. Start with a base coat to protect your natural nail bed.
2. Paint the entire nail with your base color until it is opaque.

WARNING: WAIT until all your nails are completely dry for this next step or it will ruin a perfectly good base.

3A. Simply place the tape diagonally onto the nail. I did mine from corner to corner.
3B. Paint over the tape and nail with your glitter nail polish. Remove the tape immediately.

IMG_3592

And you are left with gorgeous nails!

For once in my manicure, we will not be sealing the nail art design with a quick drying top coat. We want to keep the the glitter part glittery and the shiny part shiny. This adds dimension and interest to the nail look.

IMG_3594

List of Products:
Butter London Nail Foundation Flawless Base Coat
Essie Lilacism
Sally Hansen Ice Queen

*BONUS*

Onto my IG history of Glitter/Sparkle Nails:

This looks shockingly similar, but I assure you only the glitter is the same, and the glitter is placed as if it is rising up the nail. Can’t you see the clear cut difference?!

IMG_3581

For the girly girl that loves pink and glitter, to me, this seems like the manicure Elle Woods, Legally Blonde, would ask for at the nail salon. Don’t you think? This is the mani that got the most compliments!

IMG_2669

This next one looks more prom inspired to me. I love the muted pink base paired with the sparkly pink glitter as the star:IMG_2670I hope you enjoyed this post plus the bonus of all the glitter nails I have done. I tend to stray away from doing whole glitter nails because removing them makes me not want to paint my nails at all! It’s sad and true. Thank you so much for reading!

I’d love to see your manicure. If you end up trying this nail look or any of the above out, show/tag me on Instagram using the hashtag #iidoydoyii

 

23 thoughts on “Manicure Monday: Paint with a Touch of Sparkle

  1. Love this tutorial. I never want to go all the way with the glitter, because it’s so hard to remove. This type of design means I get my fix without as much trouble during the removal process.

    Like

  2. Nice and subtle. I could possibly do something like this on a nude creme base and silver shimmer still be presentable at work! πŸ˜› I didn’t end up doing a lavender this week… maybe next week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

