Hair | How I Create My Long Waves

When I go out at night, I usually want to do something different with my hair. Waves is the way to go! Today, I am starting off with clean hair, but I usually do this hairstyle on second day hair because it holds the curl better.

IMG_4083

First, always start off with dry hair and spray it with heat protectant. This is a very important step to me because I really don’t do my hair every week, but when I do, I protect it! Make sure you comb through the hair to distribute the product evenly.

IMG_4084Split your hair into two huge sections, as if you’re going to give yourself two pig tails. (Sometimes I tie the second pig tail just so it’s not in the way.) Taking a section from the back, I hold the clipless curling wand with the opposite hand. For example, if you start on the left section, your left hand will do the twisting work while your opposite hand holds the wand. Make sense? I try to work in sections, so I would split that one pig tail into four or five sections. Hold the curl for about 10-15 seconds. Any longer and you’ll burn your hair off! No one wants that. If you can, let the curl rest in the palm of your hand for 5-10 seconds before you let it drop. Letting it cool before dropping it right away helps to set the curl.

IMG_4085Repeat these steps on the opposite side. When all the hair is curled, gently run your fingers through the curls to loosen them up. You’ll notice the difference between done up curls and the loose waves you just created. It makes a world of difference.

IMG_4086Finally, spray your hair to set it. At this point, I switch it up depending on my mood and where I’m going. I’ll reach for either the salt spray, hair spray, or a gel-creme. These three products all hold my hair in place for a long time so I can really choose anything. It’s up to you and what you like. Once you pick your product, place it in the hair and scrunch your hair. All done! Now you should be left with a beautiful hairstyle that you can dress up or down.

What’s your favorite hairstyle to go out at night in?

28 thoughts on “Hair | How I Create My Long Waves

  1. What beautiful hair you have! Mine were very similar some years ago, but then I decided to cut and never had them long again. It’s a business to keep them in good shape: I mean, I used to treat them a lot with oils, creams, shampoos and styling and now I’m saving a lot of time. Curlers have improved a lot in the meanwhile, some years ago they were more difficult to use and more dangerous to the hair…

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Styled with Joy Blog Posts | Jul. 2015 | Styled with Joy

  3. Pingback: Wavy Hair + Soft Champagne Makeup | Birthday Look | Styled with Joy

  4. Pingback: Short Hair | How to Get Waves | Styled with Joy

  5. Pingback: Hair | Bed Head Curling Wand | Styled with Joy

Leave a Reply

