Hair | Crown Braid

IMG_5104

I have very long hair and I’m one of those people that loves long hair. Short hair makes me look like a nine year old and that’s not the look I’m going for. Long hair is easier for me to take care of, but just having it straight and down all the time gets tiresome. There are days where I want to give my hair some life somehow. Here’s one of my favorite ways to get my hair out of my face while still looking very girly.

Instead of just throwing it up into a messy bun, add a braid!

Here is a step-by-step tutorial on how I do the Crown Braid:

1.Start with dry combed hair.
2. Above the ears, gather half of the hair and tie it up into a half pony tail.
3. With the bottom half, split it into two sections in the back and separate.IMG_5103

4. On either side, take a side and braid it regularly from top to bottom. Secure with a clear elastic.
5. Take your braid, and put it up over your ear, onto your hair, meeting your opposite ear. Secure with two criss crossing bobby pins.
6. Take out your half pony tail.

You can either leave your hair down for a pretty hairband look or you can gather all your hair into a pony tail or bun.Β It’s really up to you and how you style your hair regularly. If you always have your hair up, put it all up and vice versa. You still want to look like yourself and feel comfortable in the hairstyle.

What’s your favorite way to braid your hair?

20 thoughts on “Hair | Crown Braid

  1. My hair looks ridiculous in a braid (even a small one) because it’s so thick and straight! I always get poky bits sticking out.

    It’s really pretty on others, like yourself, though! I always thought the alpine milkmaid hairdos was cute. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Your hair is so long now! A while ago I decided that I wanted to try this braided trends so I went and bought… a fake braid headband!

    Yes, I’m a cheat, but it’s so much easier. LOL πŸ˜›

    Like

  3. Aww that’s very cute on you, Joy! I like long hair too, just it needs more time to take care of.. I want to know what kind of hair treatment you’re using, your hair looks so shiny and healthy! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I always feel like short hair is harder to take care of due to the styling of it in the morning. I use coconut oil as a hair treatment mask on my ends once every week or every two weeks especially when I feel like my ends are drier than usual. In between washes, I use Batiste dry shampoo so the natural oils can appear as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You have perfect hair for milkmaid braids! I miss doing those with my long hair. My hair is still too short to try this, I still don’t know if I’m going to grow it out yet.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Hair | Faux French Braid | Styled with Joy

  6. Pingback: My Favorite Styled with Joy Blog Posts | Aug. 2015 | Styled with Joy

Leave a Reply

