Short Hair | How to Get Waves

As some of you have noticed or if you were able to read my previous post on my hair, you’ll see that I cut my long hair into a lob! I actually love this change and didn’t think I would because I adore long hair. (For a long hair wavy tutorial, click here) I’m finding new and fun ways to do my short hair and this is one of my favorite ways to style it when it’s at its second day hair. It’s the good time to put a little wave in it because it holds its curl best!

IMG_6535

First, always start off with dry hair and spray it with heat protectant. This is a very important step to me because I really don’t do my hair everyday, but when I do, I protect it! Make sure you comb through the hair to distribute the product evenly.

Second, section off the crown and secure it with a claw or hair tie so you can begin curling the bottom pieces first.

IMG_6536Third, removing your clip out of your hair, take a section from the back. I hold the clipless curling wand with the opposite hand. For example, if you start on the left section, your left hand will do the twisting work while your opposite hand holds the wand. Make sense? Hold the curl for about 10 seconds. And then, let the curl rest in the palm of your hand for 5 seconds before you let it drop. Letting it cool before dropping it right away helps to set the curl.

IMG_6537Fourth, repeat these steps on the opposite side. When all the hair is curled, gently run your fingers through the curls to loosen them up. You’ll notice the difference between done up curls and the loose waves you just created. It makes a world of difference.

Finally, spray your hair to set it. At this point, I switch it up depending on my mood and where I’m going. I’ll reach for either the salt spray, hair spray, or a gel-creme. These three products all hold my hair in place for a long time so I can really choose anything. It’s up to you and what you like. Once you pick your product, place it in the hair and scrunch your hair. All done! Now you should be left with a beautiful hairstyle that you can dress up or down.

Do you put waves in your hair every week?

16 thoughts on “Short Hair | How to Get Waves

  1. Pingback: Hair | Bed Head Curling Wand | Styled with Joy

Leave a Reply

