Manicure Monday: Black and White Paint Splatter Nails

IMG_1662

Tools needed: No nail art tools required.  Just a Q tip and some nail polish remover for easy clean up.

I was about to paint my nails, knowing that whatever I’d paint, I wanted it to be black and white. It’s strange to me that with all the nail art I’ve done throughout the years, I had never done one with this classic combination of colors. They are practically a duo and are found in clothing for Spring. This is the type of manicure that will match any outfit especially with its contrast of the two most popular colors. Let’s get started!

Here are my Paint Splatter nails in a step-by-step tutorial:

IMG_1671

1. Start with a base coat to protect your natural nail bed.
2. Paint the entire nail with your base color until it is opaque.

IMG_1672

3. With your brush on its skinnier side, lay down a stripe of your second color starting from the center of the nail all the way down the nail.
IMG_1674

4. With the same skinnier side of the brush, starting laying the brush (with hardly any polish on it) down from the center outward, from top to bottom, with light brushstrokes, as if you are pulling color from that stripe. Do it to both sides.

IMG_1673

With this feathering effect, you should get something that looks like this, on both the thumb and ring finger for accent nails.

5. Repeat Step 4 for the remaining nails but use the white polish to drag the color onto the middle of the nail, pulling the color from both sides to the center.

IMG_1677

6. Dip the ends of your Q tip into nail polish remover to clean up the mess  you may have made around your nails/cuticle area.

IMG_1676

Once excess polish is removed from around your nails, it should look like this.

IMG_1662

7. Once the manicure is done, seal the nail art design with a quick drying top coat. This will make the nail look shiny and the design last longer.

I hope you enjoyed this nail tutorial that hardly needs the use of tools to achieve such a unique look. Just keep in mind that you can use literally any two colors, and it will look great.

IMG_1678

List of Products:
Butter London Nail Foundation Flawless Base Coat
Butter London Hardwear P.D. Quick Top Coat
OPI Alpine Snow
Maybelline Express Finish Classic Black (discontinued)

I’d love to see your manicure. If you end up trying this nail look out, show/tag me on Instagram using the hashtag #iidoydoyii

8 thoughts on “Manicure Monday: Black and White Paint Splatter Nails

  1. So cool! You do great nail art!!!! I bought a dotting tool set from Sephora like 6 months ago and keep saying that I want to attempt to do more art!

    Like

    • Thank you, Laurel! Omg that must have been expensive. You fancy lady. Just start out with a simple dotticure. That could be one of my next manis so you can learns tricks before you use your tools!

      Like

      • You’re welcome! Thankfully the set was only $10.00, so I don’t feel overly guilty about not using it often!! It’s a double ended dotting tool and a very fine brush, but good for a nail art beginner like myself! I would love a dotticure post because I’ve attempted a couple of times and always have the hardest time getting the perfect dot! Thank you, Joy! 🙂

        Like

      • Awesome!!! Thank you!!! I believe it about the four leaf clover! Mine would probably look like a green blob! LOL! I’m sure yours will come out lovely and I can’t wait to see it! 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment